Charles Bolton Awarded McLemore Prize for Winter Biography

At the recent Mississippi Historical Society annual meeting Charles Bolton accepted the 2013 McLemore Prize for his book William F. Winter and the New Mississippi: A Biography. The McLemore Prize is awarded to the best book on a subject related to Mississippi history or biography published during the previous year. The award memoralizes Richard A. McLemore, former president of the Mississippi Historical Society and former director of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History, and his wife, Nannie Pitts McLemore, also a former president of the Society.
William F. Winter and the New Mississippi, the first biography of this pivotal figure, traces Winter’s life and influences from his boyhood days in Grenada County through his service in World War II through his long career in public service. Author Charles C. Bolton shines new light on one of Mississippi’s best known and least understood public policy heroes. 

Referred to by President Bill Clinton as “one of the great, unsung civil rights heroes of our age, and one of the finest men I know” Winter lived a remarkable life in service to the public. For more than six decades, Winter (b. 1923) has been one of the most recognizable public figures in Mississippi. His political career spanned the 1940s through the early 1980s, from his initial foray into Mississippi politics as James Eastland’s driver during his 1942 campaign for the United States Senate, as state legislator, as state tax collector, as state treasurer, and as lieutenant governor. Finally, Winter served as governor of the state of Mississippi from 1980 to 1984.

William F. Winter and the New Mississippi serves as a testament to one of Mississippi’s greatest leaders and one of the most important politicians in twentieth-century.

Charles Bolton is professor and head of history at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. He is the author of The Hardest Deal of All: The Battle over School Integration in Mississippi, 1870-1980 (University Press of Mississippi) and co-editor of With All Deliberate Speed: Implementing Brown v. Board of Education.

The is the first McLemore Prize for a UPM book since 2007 when Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 by Jere Nash and Andy Taggart was honored with the award.