Moira Crone Recoginzed by Southern Writers

UPM author Moira Crone (Dream State, What Gets Into Us) has been awarded the 2009 Robert Penn Warren Award for Fiction from the Southern Fellowship of Writers. This prize, based in large part on Crone's two story collections from UPM, recognizes her achivements in Southern letters.

The Fellowship of Southern Writers is a not-for-profit organization which has for its objective the encouragement of literature in the South. It seeks to do this through commemorating outstanding literary achievement, encouraging young writers through awards, prizes and fellowships, recognizing distinction in writing by election to membership, and through other appropriate activities.

In years past the Robert Penn Warren Award, by internal nomination only, has been given to Cormac McCarthy, Dorothy Allison, and Barry Hannah, Lee Smith, among others.

Learn more about Moira and the award at .